Skip to content

Casa de Cristina Open House: Living Room

September 7, 2011

I’ve spent the last two years collecting, curating (is that even a word?) and decorating my humble abode with treasures from all over the world (and HomeGoods and Marshalls- duh). I’ve posted some shots along the way, but decided to go all design blogger on you and get more serious (read: I borrowed my Dad’s fancy camera this time). I’ll be sharing some posts of things I’ve done along the way and tips/ideas. There are still a ton more ideas I would do to finish off the spaces but that’s for another day.

I’m lucky to live in my Grandparent’s house (where my Dad and Uncle grew up) as a “caretaker” of sorts while I finished Grad School. My rents redid all the floors, paint and added molding before I moved in so I could jump right in as a wanna-be HGTV designer.

So first we’ll start with the living room. I recently rearranged it to make it more conversational. The couch used to be under the window and seemed too far away and I had the rugs separated in different parts of the room.

[Club Chairs: Grandma’s, Rugs: Ikea (2 put together), Couch: Aunt’s w/a Slipcover, Ottoman: Marshalls]

If I could find one – I would totally put a brass bar cart in that far corner, or maybe a white lacquer desk. And I knowwwww- drapes would kill if I could find ones I liked.

The coffee table was my grandmother’s – she got in when she was overseas in Japan for the Coast Guard. I found that sweet, ginormous vase for only $10 on clearance at Marshalls, and decided to show off my collection of Elle and Elle Decor (thank you neighbor kid with the magazine drive). p.s. The gladiolus (orange flowers) are only $2.99 right now! Such a steal.

[tray: West Elm, Globe: HomeGoods, Bird: Grandma’s, Bowl: Anthro, Rose Quartz: South American Imports, Candle: Ross, Books: Border’s sale]

I got some tips on styling coffee tables from my fave HGTV designer, Emily Henderson (seriously, Secrets from a Stylist is such a good show!).

[Bookcase: Ikea, Floor Pillows & Flowers: HomeGoods]

[Lamp: HomeGoods, Baskets: Ikea]

Want to know what a HGTV-aholic asks for Christmas? Bookcases. Yup I got the pair as my gift from Santa this year. I die. Love them. Pretty easy to put together, average sturdiness of Ikea furniture, and the perfect home for my books and treasures. I like to mix up the shelfs by stacking books in different directions and layering them things I’ve collected.


[Painting by VanRiper: HomeGoods]

This painting is probably my most FAVORITE painting in my whole house. I love the colors and the layers. In real life the paint is 3-D. Sweet.

[Prints: Etsy here, here, & here, Frames: Ikea]

I also love this little wall of prints I collected from Etsy. Enough living room action for today. Up next kitchen/dining room!

xox

Neen

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony D permalink
    September 7, 2011 3:06 pm

    LOOKS GREAT NEEN POOPS!

  2. Kay permalink
    September 7, 2011 3:41 pm

    Just so beautiful….you did a GREAT job!

  3. September 7, 2011 4:24 pm

    It’s so pretty! And so bright & happy – just like I imagined your space would be when you said you would be doing a home tour.

  4. Momma W permalink
    September 7, 2011 7:27 pm

    The wall paint color is wonderful…the floors..excellent!!! The woman that picked those out has wonderful taste! Oh yeah…that’s me!!! xoxoxo Momma W

  5. Katie Foster permalink
    September 7, 2011 9:42 pm

    CUTE!!! GOOD WORK! 🙂

  6. September 12, 2011 3:57 pm

    Straight to the idea and well crafted! Why can’t everyone else become this?

  7. September 15, 2011 5:52 pm

    Hello, this can be a nice website. I am invariably looking for information sources like this. Maintain the nice effort!

Leave a Reply

