Skip to content

Bridal Shower Bling

May 25, 2011

Now that I’ve finished Grad school, I have committed to blogging more often on the Sassy Sipper – we so, we so excited! One of my pal’s is getting married in July and I’m lucky enough to be a bridesmaid. Two weeks ago my other pal, Sam and I hosted her bridal shower at my house. After debating about keeping the event outside, weather forced us to move inside – which ended up working out great!

Julia (the Bride) is going with a teal/yellow/gray theme for the wedding so we decided to play off of that and her love of Tiffany’s/Breakfast at Tiffany’s. We had three types of salad: Cesar tortellini with asparagus and artichokes, mixed greens, and a bomb chicken salad (shout out to my Madre for concocting all of those!). We also set up a dessert area with meringues (from Trader Joe’s!), brownie bites, cookies and most importantly cupcakes! Sam’s, sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend (phew!) made them from scratch – they were tasty and SO cute.

I made these custom name tags that people could write how they new the Bride since there would be a lot of new faces. You can download my homemade template here: Name Tag Template – just check you are using the same Avery labels and the font may change if you don’t have the one I used (Typewriter) on your comp!

Decorations were my fave part. I’ve been DYING to use this awesome teal damask table cloth I bought at Linen’s & Things years ago on clearance. I got the glassware for the desserts/flowers at Marshalls/HomeGoods/TJ Maxx. My Mom also snagged some cute plastic diamonds to scatter around the house.

I bought these huge tissue blooms from Oriental Trading & Michale’s (they look janky at first and you can def make them from tissue paper and wire yourself – but they were so perfect!) and stopped by my local wholesale flower mart to gather oodles of white flowers. 


I also grabbed some teal scrapbook paper and made this cute banner for my fireplace.  I made a template on card stock using a ruler and traced it on the scrapbook paper, punched holes in the top and strung some white ribbon between them. SO easy – but be sure to secure the last pennants to the rope with tape – or else they will all slide off if you accidentally drop it- trust me.

I despise stupid bridal shower/baby shower games so we kept the games simple and  focused on the Bride and Groom. From the centerpiece of the dessert table I hung photos of the Bride and Groom throughout their life on some curly willow and guests had to guess what their age was in the photo. We also got the Groom to answer some silly questions about their relationship/each other/himself and Julia had to answer the questions on the spot and guests had to guess how many answers they would guess the same. I even made little answer sheets for guests that matched – super easy in Word and printed on left over resume paper I had. You can download that template here: Bridal Shower Game Card(same thing as the name tags – the font I used may not show up on your comp so be sure to make it cute before printing!).

For the favors I really wanted to play up the Tiffany’s piece. So we got these cute bling ring keychains online and wrapped them up in little teal boxes. I got my boxes from Oriental Trading but discovered WAY cooler ones after I purchased them at Party City. Bummer.

It was a lovely afternoon and pretty easy to pull together. I had such a hard time finding good resources for bridal shower planning so I’ve linked to some of the sites I used below.

Bridal Shower
Bridal Shower by cwellhouser on Polyvore.com
Congrats Jules & happy planning! Next up on my party planning docket – Baby Shower!
xox Neen
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 6:08 am

    you did a fab job! a tiffany’s theme is so cute… and classy! i’m sure the bride-to-be LOVED it 🙂

  2. May 27, 2011 9:51 am

    Thanks, girl! 🙂

  3. September 2, 2011 4:00 am

    I do consider all of the ideas you’ve offered on your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very quick for novices. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

