Skip to content

Adios, Merced!

August 12, 2010
tags: ,

Evidence that I really do help students....or at least pose for pics with them

Wow. It’s been 3 months (ok not quite 3…) since I left San Deahgo for the summer to work at UC Merced. While I still have some time before school starts up again at good ole’ USD – I will be right back into work on Monday in my old position advising fraternities and sororities (which I’m suppper excited about!!).

So Merced isn’t the most happenin’ of towns – but my job has been awesome. I worked with 20 student orientation leaders and worked with them on leadership development and helped organize and run new student orientation. Together we hosted 9 orientations and 2 advising sessions. FEW! Here are some summer highlights:

1. I’ve taught myself how to fishtail braid

2. I now own 3 pair of khakis

3. I went to my first NASCAR race

4. I went to the first wedding of my college friends (and my first bachelorette party)

5. Wore wedges for the first time in over a year (thanks to this)

6. Celebrated Chels’ graduating nursing school and my little Megan graduating from grad school and little Kayla from SSU

7. Went to Yosemite

8. Celebrated the engagement of 2 awesome friends (yes that’s two different couples)

Fishtail braids are the rage in Merced

BUT more importantly, I gained some new professional and student friends and most of all, invaluable experiences that are sure to help me throughout my career.

Today we host our end of the year banquet and I look forward to celebrating the accomplishments of our team and saying goodbye to the people I’ve spent the most time with this summer (tear!) :(. Knowing me, I’ll probably unleash the waterworks at sometime tomorrow, but still it’s bittersweet. I’ve missed my partners in crime in San Diego.

This school year has big things coming up: I turn 24 (wooo?), I have a research project to complete, another year of grad school to tackle and still work on improving the Christina we know and love. Oh and I want to write a book. righttttt.

Merced, it’s been grand, stay classy and thanks for stopping by.

Neen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Momma W permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:48 pm

    Come on home my Baby!!! Can’t wait to see you !!!!! xoxoox Momma W

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Adios, Merced! « The Sassy Sipper -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

