Skip to content

Neen’s Summer Book Club: Week 2

August 2, 2010

(well I know it’s been more than a week since the last book club post – but this is the second installment). Also on another semi-related note, I’ve decided a new thing to add to my bucket list/life goals is to write a book. It will be a best seller and they’ll make a movie out of it starring Adam Brody and we’ll all live happily ever after. sigh.

OK but back to real books that have been published by real authors, that know what they are doing. This week’s books are a duo that will hit the silver screen next year. Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed and Something Blue stories are about two friends and what else, their friendship woes and dating escapades. I particularly liked the character of Rachel – and I realllly like Ginnifer Goodwin who will be playing her when the movie comes out.

While the story talks about cheating – yuck yuck – there is just something about the tale of the best friend that always gets the short end of the stick then finally has things start going her way that gets you (or me in particular). I wanted to kill the other main character, Darcy, but after reading the second book, liked her a little more. For some higher-caliber (or at least pricey-er than your normal trashy romance novel) summer romance reading, I def suggest these two easy reads (especially before the movie comes out).

ANNND – I’m totally aware these came out forever and a day ago. But like I mentioned last time – I had lots of catch up to do this weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 6:01 am

    I just read both of these this summer too! I didn’t know they were making a movie but I did think it would be a good movie story. Lookign forward to it. And I totally agree that I hated Darcy in the first book but by the end I liked her and Rachel. Glad I wasn’t the only one about 5 years behind on this chick lit. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Adios, Merced! « The Sassy Sipper

Leave a Reply

