Skip to content

Gypsy Blood

May 27, 2010

Greetings from Merced, CA! I’ve once again left the roost (this time just for the summer) and ventured into a new chapter of my life. I tell you, this gypsy blood makes it hard to stay in one place for long!

Earlier this year I received an internship to work with the orientation team at UC Merced – California’s newest UC school, founded in 2005. It’s super exciting because, A. I get to work with awesome students and help with new student orientation B. The school is brand-spanken new and is growin’ like crazy and C. I’m closer to my nor-cal loves!

I’ve just arrived in Merced this week and my third day here I headed out to Yosemite for a retreat with the orientation leader team. I was in Yosemite probably 10 or so years ago, so I was excited to get back! Armed with a sweeeet-suburban that I got to drive (there were 3 others), myself and 21 other Bobcats (UC Merced’s mascot), we headed out to the park which is super close to Merced. We were accompanied by and AWESOME UCM staff member and 34-year park veteran Ranger, Maynard Medifiend (yes that’s his REAL name – how great is that?!), so we learned tons of facts about the park from a Ranger’s perspective that I would have never known going in on my own. We saw loads of great stuff, including a mamma bear and two cubs!!

I also got to test out some functions on my new cam (my other one bit the dust!) so I got some cool shots of Yosemite Valley. Maynard was full of John Muir quotes (he sounds like one awesome dude btw) so I’ll leave you with this as you look through some of my pics….(oh and remember to say the quote in a Scottish accent, it makes it better – I promise!).

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.”

-John Muir

Bridal Veil Falls

Yosemite Valley

El Capitan

More Valley Shots

I’m off to Sacramento and SF this weekend for the holiday! Xox Neen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammy permalink
    May 27, 2010 11:12 pm

    Yippeee you’re back!!! Love the pics 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Adios, Merced! « The Sassy Sipper

Leave a Reply

