Skip to content

Apparently I can’t Jump

January 13, 2010

View from Texas A&M

Today we spent our day visiting more campuses in Education City – Georgetown, Texas A&M and the Qatar Foundation. The Qatar Foundation oversees many campus/branch-wide events and the housing for students within Education City.

Sara and I in Texas A&M

It’s been very interesting to see the differently styles of presentations and setup of their student affairs departments. Some schools are very structured and have systems similar to American universities, while others have very free flowing structures.

Throughout the campus there are various phrases written in large letters placed on the grass and entrances like “think,” “create,” “discover,” and “innovate.” Today while waiting for our bus, we decided to have a photo op with our group in front of the “innovate sign.” So after I got stuck crawling under the first “n” in “innovate,” we decided to do a jumpy photo that everyone has to do on a trip anywhere. Sooooooo since my ankle is all jacked up, I can’t jump very well….I know wah wahhhhh as Sara would say. BUT anyway – I don’t have the pictures on my camera but my jumping moves looked more like a beached sea lion struggling in the air rather than a young woman jumping. So needless to say, my photo has become a running joke among my friends here. Someday maybe I’ll share the lovely photo.

The Maryland Group Practicing Their Jumping Skills

After our busy day in education city, one of the Carnegie Mellon staff members, Dave, hosted a dinner for us at an Indian restaurant nearby. It was DELICIOUS! I got a lemon mint drink which was bomb.com (I swear I need to buy that domain) and we got a sampling of loads of dishes for under 20 bucks! My kinda meal!

Sippin' on a Lemon Mint Drink

We, well I, were also super obnoxious on the bus ride home – I’ve finally adjusted to the time enough to not pass out at the dinner table. Tomorrow we spend more time on the various campuses and get to tour the new student center that should open later this year. We are also going with some of the staff here to a club in the West Bay of Doha – I can’t WAIT! haha you all know how much I love to dance – but don’t worry I will be sure to assess the situation/crowd before I pull out any of the crazy moves!

p.s. Check out this awesome video we saw yesterday, produced by the Qatar Foundation and Al Jezerra – you’ll get a better understanding of what’s going on here! http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1137400007375&ref=nf

p.p.s. just read about what’s happened in Hati – crazy how you can go without hearing any news when your away from the computer!

TTFN

Neen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ry Ry permalink
    January 13, 2010 9:18 pm

    Your jumping skills sadden me. Sounds like a blast. Stay safe!

  2. Sammy permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:25 pm

    You definitely need to buy bomb.com & be careful when you go out tomorrow night….no more injuries! 🙂

  3. Momma W permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:43 pm

    Stop JUMPING!!!!! Enough!!!!

    I can’t take care of anymore sick people. One broken ankle in a lifetime please!

    xoxo Momma

    PS…you do remember that you have a metal rod… with big blots in your leg???

Leave a Reply

