Skip to content

Even Qatari Women Think It’s Weird I’m Still Single.

January 11, 2010
tags:

Funny story. Today we visited the Islamic Cultural Center. It was AWESOME. Seriously I learned so much about the culture, religion and way of life. We even visited a Mosque and I got to practice writing Arabic in front of a classroom of people.

Sippin' on Some Arabic Coffee

This is where it gets good. We had three lovely Muslim/Qatari/Iraqi/British women tour guides (and they gave us traditional Arabic Coffee and apple juice).

One of said women offered to take us to the “washroom” to use the facilities (TMI – I know). So we are waiting outside the bathroom for everyone because it was a combo regular toilet and Turkish toilet (a lovely hole in the ground you squat over). ANYWHOO – I was curious why our male guide wasn’t wearing a ring even though he was married to one of the female tour guides. So the following convo ensued:

Me: So do men usually wear a wedding ring?

Gheed: OF COURSE! I would KILL my husband if he didn’t wear a ring.

All: Laughter

Gheed to me: Does your husband wear a ring?

Me: LAUGHTER, No, no, I’m not married

Gheed (shocked): Why Not?!

Me: I ask myself that everyday

Gheed - my married bff is on the left

I then proceeded to receive a mini counseling session from this woman who assured me the men were stupid and didn’t know what they were missing. I think I’m going to ask her to call me every so often with those polite comments.
From our lovely tour we went on to lunch in the Souq and a tour of the Islamic Art Museum which was designed by I.M. Pei who designed other buildings such as the pyramid at the Louvre in Paris.

Oh and the best part of my day with Gheed is that she told us all to add her as a friend on Facebook. Awesome.

PITME (peace in the middle east)
Neen

p.s. our groups made the local English newspaper today!! Check it out here!

One of our guides showing us a piece of silk from the Kaba in Mecca

Corniche and West Bay skyline at sundown - the Islamic Art Museum is on the right

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Momma W permalink
    January 11, 2010 7:56 pm

    You haven’t met anybody good enough for you my Baby!!!

    Guess I am not going to Qatar, I would never step into the bathrooms!

    Be safe girls.
    xoxo
    Momma

  2. M Gillie permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:16 pm

    I am OBSESSED with you. Your life is so fun and I can’t wait to be a part of it when you get back.
    Safe travels!!!
    You da bomb….

  3. September 4, 2011 9:37 am

    Dear Friend,,

    It’s me Gheed, thank you so much for this amazing article , we hope we can see you again in FANAR for ladies Chat 🙂 and Qatari coffee,, have a nice day XX.

    Regards Gheed

Trackbacks

  1. Flashback: A year ago (sometime close to) today « Higher EDventures

Leave a Reply

