Skip to content

Karma’s a Piece of Cake in the Face

October 27, 2009

Let’s bIMG_4058acktrack in my life shall we? I recently celebrated the 2nd Anniversary of my 21st birthday, and I celebrated it with some of my dearest, bestest, funnest, rididculousest, attractive friends I know (and yes, I am aware of all of the horrible grammar errors that were just committed).

I traveled up to SF on Virgin America (my fave airline, hands down). I always feel like some super-attractive, swanky jet setter whenever I hop on board. We spent the weekend frolicking around my former roommate Katie’s new hood in the Lower Haight and the rest of the city.

It also happened to be fleet week so we headed to our friends Jess and Bri’s lovely pad for a roof top party in the Marina to check out the Blue Angels. Too bad our bus ride with one of the top ten creepiest men in the world took foreIMG_4159ver (see photo to the right), because by the time we got to the bash, the magic was canceled due to poor flying conditions (boo hiss!). p.s. If a man named Charlie asks to take pictures of you and your friends feet – just say no. While we stood on the roof cold and sadden by the cancellation, the Runnals/Watts household quickly shifted gears and began dragging the BBQ supplies inside for a make-shift house party. I’m so glad we moved inside. Dancing, guitar hero and cake took over. And when I say cake took over – it took over.

Let’s backtrack even further…My great friend, Jessica Watts turned 24 earlier this year, coincidentally on the eve of Easter. Jessica, being the good catholic that she is, had given up the most beloved thing in her life (sorry Bri), desserts. Lucky for her, she could enjoy the outlawed treats at midnight on her b-day. Being the great pal that I am, IMG_2533I brought along a cupcake on our bar crawl so she could be sure to enjoy it promptly at midnight. Sparring no time, I proceeded to give darling Jessica the cupcake…but got so caught up in the excitement that I accidentally smashed it right into her pretty little face dead on. Whoops.

If you can see where this is going, you will now suspect that dear Jess was VERY eager to return the favor I bestowed upon her. IMG_4177 Unsuspecting, the beautiful cake my girlfriend Alicia made the other b-day girl Lauren and I, was smashed into my face ever so un-politely by Jess. It was probably one of the funniest moments of my life and probably one of the tastiest cakes I’ve enjoyed.I could feel the love permeating through the thick, rich chocolate frosting straight into my freckled skin.

The rest of the weekend was spent with bottomless mimosas, sailors and riding around in limo’s (unplanned – but the lucky result of not finding a cab). One of my goals was to obtain a sailor hat for a photo – and don’t you worry I succeeded. I left San Fran with a piece of my cake heart behind and am ever so grateful for my friends generous gifts, cakes, champagne, hospitality and sponsorship of my ridiculous dance moves and antics.

Until next time,

NeenIMG_4253

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:45 am

    GREAT Blog post! I have to admit, that was one of the best weekends i have had in san francisco to date…i miss my neener poops, we have a lot of good memories from your recent visit, and im excited for the next one to come….all in all, id say every time we visit eachother (me to SD, you to SF) good times are inevitable.

    I LOVE YOU!! glad you had a good birthday weekend. and PLEASE wear Snuggie gift with cautious, leopard print pattern may cause excessive sassy-ness 🙂

  2. Momma W permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:24 pm

    Honestly…was that lady next to Creepy Charlie even alive???? Yuckkkkkk!!!! Only you have the best stories to tell!

    xoxoMomma

  3. Christie permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:15 pm

    haha you make me laugh. great post

  4. Katie permalink
    October 28, 2009 10:10 am

    in response to Momma DUB…she was barely alive! and i was scared, more of charlie though, i almost slapped that camera out of his hand when he asked to take a picture of our toes…i blunty responded with, ” you ABSOLUTELY may not!” haha

Leave a Reply

