Skip to content

Hola from Casa de Cristina! (please say with spanish accent)

September 29, 2009

Greetings from America’s Finest City (cough cough – San Diego)! Apologies for the long interim between posts. Getting acclimated to life down south has taken a toll on my blogging efforts. But alas, I am back – and with the promise to keep it up more regularly! Like I mentioned earlier in the summer, my relocation to my grandparent’s beautiful home in San Diego has presented the opportunity to create my own Ikea catalog as my friend Lucas describes it :). So I am embarking on a journey to share with you my new pad. I’ll continue along with other posts, but thought it would be easiest to break up the tour in a few posts. IMG_4045

Today we’ll begin with one of the rooms that is furthest along in escaping its identity crisis – the Dining Room. This room is connected with the kitchen and was formerly used by my grandparents as the family room. When I’m throwing the big bashes I like to be in the kitchen and mingling with my esteemed guests so it was important for me to have a place for us to gather while cookin’ up my fave chicken cheese (chicken parmesan) or quesdillas.

So I pulled a Casa Caudill and had my brother and friends heft my grandparent’s awesome dining room table into the old fam room (It was more of a hey! don’t scratch the walls, omg can it even fit through the door?! kind of moment than anything).

I repainted the Ikea corner shelf I’ve had since middle school black and am still working on jazzin’ it up. While it turned out great, I am SICK of painting things black. Wayyyy too many coats were required. IMG_4039

My favorite part of the room has to be the piece de la resistance on the south wall of the room. My mom and I are EXPERT Home Goods/Ross/TJ Maxx/Marshalls shoppers and we found this beauty at Home Goods in Temecula. On clearance we picked up this beaut! It even came framed! The painting is “Pavots Rosir” by Shirley Novak.

More from Casa de Cristina to come!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 6:29 pm

    I’m thinking a large cylindrical flower base in the center of the dinning room table with real, yes real, ping flower or maybe yellow. Yes, very perfect. I don’t even have a chair in Korea. I sit on the floor.

  2. Katie K permalink
    September 29, 2009 8:15 pm

    looks great!! I love the picture!

  3. Ryan W permalink
    October 4, 2009 6:44 pm

    You realize that the painting isn’t on the south wall, right?

  4. cwellhouser permalink*
    October 4, 2009 6:46 pm

    yes it is!!! The pool is north window west, family room east dorkus!!!

Leave a Reply

