Skip to content

Leaving with Flowers in My Hair…

August 3, 2009

What a year. I left Sonoma State in a hurry off to Europe and headed straight to the Bay after I got back. Just short of a year, I’ve decided to say goodbye to the city by the bay. I’ve had more fun than I could dream of and have made some friends I know I’ll still have for years to come – which is why it’s so bittersweet to leave (something about this city just makes me feel so alive!).

image2

I LOVE being able to take Muni everywhere – despite the crazies that ALWAYS find me. I LOVE the variety of food thats all within a 5 minute walk (well these days it’s more like 15). I LOVE the city when the sun is shining and you’re relaxing on Jess’s roof with a view of the whole city. I LOVE shopping downtown minus crazy protestors or tourists. I LOVE the sound of the cable cars going by the office. And I’m OBSESSED with the cabbies – they make my night!

BUT – for ever ounce of me that is dreading leaving, I’m also equally as excited for a new chapter in my life. I’ve been accepted and enrolled in the Masters in Higher Education Program at the University of San Diego. AND I’ve also been lucky enough to obtain an assistantship in the Greek Life office, working with fraternities and sororities.

For those of you that know me from my college days know that I LOVED working in student life and I was probably tooimage1o involved in my sorority. Over this last year, I’ve really come to miss the university setting. While I absolutely ADORE my previous coworkers at SHIFT – I had to many signs pointing towards grad school and knew deep down this is what I wanted to do most.

I’m also very lucky to be moving into the house my Dad and Uncle grew up in San Diego. Jealous much? My parents have been slaving away rennovating my bachelorette study pad and I can’t wait to be closer to my family! It’s been 5 years since I’ve lived there for more than a couple months. My cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents, brother and parents will all be sick of me. 🙂

While I haven’t touched all of SF and I’ll miss my best friends dearly, I know I’ll be back.

image3

Even the summer fog can’t keep me away! I leave SF with friends gained, bones broken, friendships stronger and an eagerness to start this next adventure (hopefully with all of my limbs intact!).

p.s. don’t worry this sassy sipper will still continue sipping in SD!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 10:22 am

    WAH!!!! I still can’t believe you are leaving. Your spot seems so quiet and empty down here.

    I am very excited for you…I know you’re gonna rock it. 😉 And I now always have a place to stay (two actually, your mom is such a sweetheart!) when in SD.

  2. Momma W permalink
    August 11, 2009 6:17 pm

    I will never drive a Budget rental truck again!! Thank God for Aunt Linny!!! Welcome home my baby!! I am exhausted!

    xoxoMomma

  3. Tony permalink
    August 22, 2009 10:06 am

    Oh Neen poops that was a cute blog SF and i miss you so very much but i cant wait to visit you at your solano beach pad! Only two more weeks!

Trackbacks

  1. Hola from Casa de Cristina! (please say with spanish accent) « The Sassy Sipper
  2. Wrapping up! « The Sassy Sipper
  3. Leggo my Superego « Higher EDventures

Leave a Reply

